Reviews

Book Review: Paper Dolls

Paper Dolls: A Young Adult Romantic Thriller, by Sienna Blake

Publication: Gypsy Publishing; 1 edition; April 24, 2016

paper dollsAbout the book: 

Salem is my twin sister. She loved me. She protected me. She forgave me, even after I failed her. I just got her back after searching for three long, lonely years.

Then there’s Clay. Sweet yet intense and nursing a dark past of his own, he’s all the redemption I don’t deserve. He wants to open me up and know the insides of my soul. I want to let him, but I’m scared he’ll run from what he finds.

But I can’t have them both.

My name is Aria. I’m 18. And today, I must choose. One of the two people I love has to die.

 

My Review:

Who, What, When, Where

This incredibly interesting and surprising novel is about 18-year-old Aria who is living and working in Mirage Falls. She works at a lingerie/toy shop for a woman named Flick, and as the novel begins, she is falling for a guy named Clay. The problem is, however, she is searching for her twin sister, Salem, that she hasn’t seen in three years. 

Aria and Salem obviously have secrets from their past and reasons they ran away, but Aria does not reveal this to Clay until a while into the novel. Clay also seems to have secrets, but again, these are slowly revealed throughout the novel, which left me insanely curious about what was going on, who was being honest, and so on. 

If it seems that I’m not saying much about the plot, that is correct. So many things happen in this novel that I would absolutely hate to give any spoilers. But I will say that Aria’s life seems basically happy and normal while she’s looking for Salem, however, things drastically change once they find each other again.

Thoughts and Reactions

I have to start by saying, “Wow!” There’s little I love more than surprise twists in novels and Paper Dolls definitely surprised me. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time I was reading but there was a huge “oh my God” moment that I never saw coming. I knew something was going on and suspected that it would be bad, but I truly had no idea what was coming.

Paper Dolls is well-written with very realistic and honest inner and outer dialogue. I struggled a bit with the character development, realizing several times that I could hardly picture the characters in my mind, unsure of what they even looked like. Beyond that, the plot was very suspenseful and absolutely entertaining. 

Sienna Blake addressed some difficult and serious topics in Paper Dolls but did it in a wonderful way. I highly recommend this novel to lovers of psychological thrillers. It has elements of romance and family but also has very challenging moments – all combining to make an amazing read!

*Trigger warning* This novel does deal with themes of sexual abuse and mental illness.

*Thanks to BookFunnel for providing this novel in exchange for an honest review!

Purchase Paper Dolls on Amazon!

Learn more about Sienna Blake by visiting her web page.

 

Leave a Reply

