Reviews

OUR LITTLE SECRET, BY DARREN O’SULLIVAN

PUBLICATION:  HQ DIGITAL; JULY 28, 2017

our little secret

 

About the book: 

A DESERTED TRAIN STATION: A MAN WAITS. A WOMAN WATCHES.

Chris is ready to join his wife. He’s planned this moment for nearly a year. The date. The time. The train. But he hadn’t factored in Sarah.

So when Sarah walks on to the platform and sees a man swaying at the edge she assumes he’s just had too much to drink. What she doesn’t expect is to stop a suicide.

As Sarah becomes obsessed with discovering the secrets that Chris is clearly hiding, he becomes obsessed with stopping her, protecting her.

But there are some secrets that are meant to stay buried…

My Review:

Over the past year, I have really come to love suspense/thrillers. It’s truly become my favorite genre of novels, which is hard to admit since I have always been a women’s fiction kind of girl. Anyway, I’m not sure where to begin with this wonderfully insane roller-coaster ride of a novel, Our Little Secret. This upcoming novel by author Darren O’Sullivan is crazy, tense, creepy, sad – but absolutely outstanding!

Let me begin by saying I think that this will be a fairly brief review for fear of giving spoilers. Chris wants to kill himself so that he can be with his wife. He has carefully researched and planned how, where, and when he will end his life. The problem? the night he is bringing his plan to fruition, Sarah just happens to stroll up to the station after leaving her ex-boyfriend’s house. Chris’ plans are ruined and he heads home, but Sarah is unable to forget him and that night, so persistently she tracks him down and basically forces herself into his life. 

One of the first things that came to mind after reading this novel is a note to self: tell my daughter that if she ever disrupts a suicide, please don’t go looking for the dude, this is just not a good idea. Chris is sad, lonely, and broken after losing his wife. He wants to kill himself. He also wants to kill himself in a way that others won’t have to see or witness it. So when Sarah appears, he chickens out. It doesn’t take long to realize that things are a little freaky, but they get even weirder after Sarah starts trying to find Chris. 

This novel is told from varying points of view, including the diary of Chris’ wife, Julia. I loved the different voices in the novel, feeling as if it just added that much more suspense. Similar to another novel I read this weekend, I have to admit that this one was a little slow to start for me. However, it quickly jumped from “just so-so” to “oh my God, what the hell is going on??”

Darren O’Sullivan’s vivid imagery really brought this one to life for me. At times, a bit too much, but I truly felt as if I were a part of the story. Not only do we meet a man on the edge of suicide and paralyzed with grief, we get to see a variety of complex characters that are all fighting their own battles. I loved and hated Sarah at the same time. She was caring and sweet and thoughtful, but at the same time, I kept thinking about how closely she resembled women I have seen in horror movies or on Forensic Files. You know what I’m talking about when you’re reading or watching something and you want to scream, “for the love of God, don’t do that!”

Our Little Secret is a creepy, edge-of-your-seat thriller and if you are a fan of such novels, this is one you shouldn’t miss. I cannot wait to read more from this amazingly talented author in the future. 

*Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for providing a copy of this ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Pre-Order Our Little Secret on Amazon!

 

2 thoughts on “”

Leave a Reply

