Reviews

Book review: Taking Down Brooklyn

Taking Down Brooklyn,

by K.B. Andrews & Kelly Moore

Publication: August 15, 2017

brooklynAbout the book: 

My life was my own, that is until I met B. She was meant to be one night of fun. One night of forgetting my miserable, lonely life.

I’m a hired killer, a modern-day hero, of sorts.

I’m paid well to take out the bad guys. I take the money, I do the job, no questions asked – until her beautiful face becomes my target.

B suddenly has a name. Brooklyn Warren, The President’s daughter.

The woman who I’ve thought about since the night we were together, now becomes my target. She has a bullseye’s on her head and a large amount of money is being offered to take her out. But I don’t kill innocent people and Brooklyn is not only innocent but highly intelligent and trying to save millions of lives.

She’s come up with the cure for cancer and pissed off the mighty pharmaceutical companies. They stand to lose billions of dollars at the hands of a sexy redhead. Her father being the President of the United States doesn’t dissuade them from hunting her and threatening him.

Instead of taking the contract to kill her, I rescue her and then she, in turn, rescues me from my lonely life.

Keeping her safe is the only thing that matters to me. Her life will save millions, mine will save none. I will risk everything to keep her safe.

Now the hunt is on for both of us.

My Review:

What’s better than getting to read and review an upcoming novel from your favorite authors? Getting to read and review a novel that they have co-written! Taking Down Brooklyn is a romantic suspense/thriller by K.B. Andrews and Kelly Moore, and oh my goodness, it is fantastic!

John is a handsome, sexy hitman that spots a woman in a bar one night and takes her home. Not being able to get her off of his mind, he’s shocked when he’s called in for a new assignment and sees her picture sitting there in front of him. Even worse, Brooklyn is the President’s daughter and has discovered a cure for cancer. Brooklyn wanted a night away from everything when she was in the bar, wearing a wig, and met John. Never expecting to see him again, she’s shocked to learn that he’s found her and rather than kill her, wants to protect her. 

Let me say that the chemistry between John and Brooklyn was instant. But after their one night together, everything after that is a roller coaster ride of running, hiding, and trying to stay alive. On top of getting away from the bad guys, they are also trying to get to John’s twin brother, Jake, as well as, keep her father – the President of the United States – up to speed on what’s going on. There are numerous twists and turns in this novel where one minute you think things are o.k., then they go bad, then it looks up again, only to have another obstacle in their way. 

I’ve read a few co-written novels and love how two authors can construct a story that you would never think was co-written. I must admit that before reading Taking Down Brooklyn, I was expecting to be able to tell what Kelly wrote and what K.B. wrote. I have read so many of their novels I thought I could figure out which author wrote which chapters, however, I was proven very wrong. Already fantastic authors on their own, they created a perfectly suspenseful and exciting novel together without any shifts in style or voice. The writing is flawless, the characters are interesting and complex, and the imagery used will make you feel as if you are a part of the story. This book is full of romance, hope, regrets, action, and love. There are happy moments and sad moments, but it is absolutely jam-packed with non-stop action. 

I feel as if I haven’t said a lot about the overall plot, but I am trying to avoid spoilers at all costs! Taking Down Brooklyn has fantastic characters and numerous surprising moments that I could not believe. Romance fans that like a dash of thriller/crime fiction will devour this one. Be prepared to fall in love with John as you follow along on this wild ride!

*Special thanks to Kelly Moore and K.B. Andrews for providing this ARC in exchange for my honest review! 

Pre-Order Taking Down Brooklyn on Amazon!

Learn more about the fabulous K.B. Andrews and Kelly Moore by visiting their web pages!

Leave a Reply

