Reviews

Book Review: Heart of Thief

HEART OF A THIEF (AN UNFORGIVABLE ROMANCE BOOK 1), BY ELLA MILES

PUBLICATION: JUNE 25, 2017

heart of a thiefAbout the book: 

I’m the villain in most romances.
I’m a thief that steals happily ever afters.
Except unlike most romances, love doesn’t conquer me, I conquer it.
I’ve stolen countless women from unsuspecting men.
Gotten my one night with them.
And then watched the heartbreak that occurs in my wake.
Love doesn’t survive once I enter the picture if it ever existed at all.
Although, stealing Sloane might be my greatest challenge of all.

Asher is a villain trying to a put a horrible life behind him by doing the only two things he knows to do: surf and steal. Sloane is an angel that runs a charity helping children needing a fresh start. Asher will do anything to have her. There is just one problem…she’s about to marry another man.

My Review:

I am a huge fan of Ella Miles and am excited to post my review today of her latest novel, Heart of a Thief. One thing I love about Ella is her ability to take completely flawed people and somehow dig up the good inside of them and make you cheer for them. This was absolutely the case with Asher and Sloane in Heart of a Thief. 

Asher is a professional surfer that lives a very simple life despite the money that he has made. He lives in a tiny shack on the ocean in Hawaii, drives a beat up old truck, and surfs. However, his downfall is his addiction to stealing women that are planning to marry other men. The rush of breaking up an engagement and breaking hearts is Asher’s horrible habit. Sloane is a beautiful, caring young woman that runs a non-profit for troubled youth, as well as, a fellow surfer. As soon as he spots her at her bachelorette party, he decides that she is his next conquest. 

So, Asher was a very bad boy. However, his looks, charisma, and charm made it difficult for me to dislike him for long. I certainly did not agree with his hatred of love and commitment or his desire to destroy others’ relationships – however, it was impossible not to fall in love with him. It took me awhile to warm up to Sloane because I couldn’t figure her out. She was one of those sneaky characters that I thought was the “good guy” of the story, but oh my, she ended up surprising me. 

This was a fast-paced and addictive book, although at times I felt like there wasn’t really anywhere to go with the overall plot. Not only were there several plot twists to juice up the plot, I ended up completely shocked at various points in the novel. Ella Miles took what seemed to be a straightforward story and filled it with some major twists that I couldn’t believe – and I loved every bit of it!

Heart of a Thief is funny, suspenseful, sad, frustrating, but overall it’s romantic. As always, her novels serve as a reminder that love can sneak up on us at any moment and that sometimes the people we think are wrong for us, end up being exactly right. Bad guys can become good guys, and people can learn from their mistakes. 

I have read a ton of Ella Miles, but I must say that I think this may be my favorite! Any fans of romantic suspense and imperfect characters should not miss this one. 

*Thanks to author Ella Miles for providing a copy of this novel in exchange for my honest review!

Order Heart of a Thief on Amazon!

Learn more about Ella Miles by visiting her web page.

Leave a Reply

