Reviews

Book Review: The Breakdown

THE BREAKDOWN, BY B.A. PARIS

PUBLICATION: ST. MARTIN’S PRESS; JULY 18, 2017

breakdownAbout the book: 

If you can’t trust yourself, who can you trust?

Cass is having a hard time since the night she saw the car in the woods, on the winding rural road, in the middle of a downpour, with the woman sitting inside—the woman who was killed. She’s been trying to put the crime out of her mind; what could she have done, really? It’s a dangerous road to be on in the middle of a storm. Her husband would be furious if he knew she’d broken her promise not to take that shortcut home. And she probably would only have been hurt herself if she’d stopped.

But since then, she’s been forgetting every little thing: where she left the car, if she took her pills, the alarm code, why she ordered a pram when she doesn’t have a baby.

The only thing she can’t forget is that woman, the woman she might have saved, and the terrible nagging guilt.

Or the silent calls she’s receiving, or the feeling that someone’s watching her…

My Review:

I’m not sure where to begin this review or what I can say without giving spoilers, but oh my God, what a book! The Breakdown is one of the best suspense/thrillers I can recall reading – ever. This novel has that special magic that makes it addictive, surprising, horrifying, and amazing all at once. The basic premise is that the main character, Cass, took a creepy short-cut home from an end of the school year bash with her fellow teachers. While driving home in a blinding rain storm, she passes a car on the side of the road. The next day, it’s all over the news about a woman being found dead in that car on that road. Cass starts freaking out because her husband warned her not to take that short-cut at night and especially in a storm, so she can’t tell him what she saw. Then a ton of strange things start happening and she’s struggling to try to determine if someone saw her drive by, or if she’s just losing her mind.  

I’m a huge fan of suspense/thrillers, but this one completely floored me. I think I retold 95% of the story to my husband once I finished reading, all the while commenting over and over that this should be made into a movie. What I loved about The Breakdown is that the theories I developed early on proved to be absolutely wrong. When things started to come together, I couldn’t believe it. There are no words to describe the love I feel for an author that can shock me like this. I never saw this coming and was suspecting someone else the entire time.

The Breakdown will evoke several emotions including fear, creepiness, suspicion, sadness, and so on. But I promise that you will quickly be drawn into these characters’ lives and circumstances and will not be able to focus on anything else until you’ve finished reading. It is not often that I am so surprised by the outcome of a novel and I adore the fact that this was so shocking. This is a must-read for any fan of suspense/thrillers and I promise that you will not be disappointed. 

*Thanks to NetGalley for providing this ARC in exchange for an honest review!

Pre-Order The Breakdown on Amazon!

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Breakdown”

Leave a Reply

