Reviews

Book Review: Under the Cherry Tree

UNDER THE CHERRY TREE: A FEEL-GOOD, HEART-WARMING, TEAR-JERKING LOVE STORY,

BY LILAC MILLS

PUBLICATION:  LILAC TREE BOOKS; MAY 31, 2017

cherry treeAbout the book: 

“My dog didn’t like men. Actually, that was a lie – she didn’t like the men I chose. The only ones who rocked her world had been my father (who was no longer with us), Ross (who was gay), and the butcher on the high street (for obvious reasons).”
When Jenni Meadows has the opportunity to expand her dog-grooming business she takes it, and when a nice man appears on her horizon but fails to make any sparks fly, she decides she has enough on her plate with her business without adding a boyfriend into the mix.Besides, Millie doesn’t like him and when her dog doesn’t like a man, Jenni knows all about it. So why does Millie take a very strange liking to the new vet, especially since he has a taciturn expression, wears a wedding ring, and wields a needle?Under the Cherry Tree is a tale of love and hope, waggy tails, and cold noses.

My Review:

What a fantastic book… Don’t get me wrong, this provoked all sorts of wicked tears, but I loved this novel. Jenni’s world pretty much revolves around dogs. Her best friend and companion is an 11-year old Westie named Millie and she also owns a dog grooming business. Her life suddenly changes when her sort of pushy Mom drops off a brochure for Cherry Tree Farm. Besides having a wonderfully quaint cottage, the land also has a barn, arena, and several outbuildings perfect for expanding her business. Along with the house comes a string of men that she meets but Millie doesn’t like them, and we all know what that means when our dog dislikes someone – they’re not good for us. Suddenly she meets a man that Millie approves of and they soon learn all the ways that they are connected. 

I instantly loved and connected with Jenni. My world basically revolves around my three dogs so I totally identified with her life and passion for working with dogs. One thing that frustrated me was that it took her so long to trust Millie’s judgment about men she was meeting. If the dog growls and/or bites in the man’s presence then he needs to go! 

The sub-plot involving the previous owner of the farm was also wonderful, although sad. I’m into sure if I would have been as accepting of the paranormal activities in the house, but, who knows until you have been there. Something that I was not at all prepared for was the emotional and heart-wrenching moments in this novel. Some of Jenni’s troubles hit way too close to home and I found myself crying like a baby, however, by the time I finished reading, my heart was full and happy! 

Under the Cherry Tree is an effortless and light-hearted read that any romantic and dog lover will devour! Lilac Mills’ writing style is that of a seasoned author, pulling the reader in to become lost in her crazy and furry world. I thoroughly enjoyed the honor of reading this novel! 

*Thanks to the author for providing this ARC in exchange for an honest review!

Pre-Order Under the Cherry Tree on Amazon!

Learn more about Lilac Mills by visiting her web page.

Leave a Reply

