Reviews

Book Review: The Boy Friend

THE BOY FRIEND, BY MIKA JOLIE

PUBLICATION: APRIL 23, 2017

boyfriendAbout the book: 

According to the law of attraction, women and men can’t be friends.

Contrary to this myth, my friendship with Coriander Phillips does not rest on unrequited love or un-actualized lust. We’ve been inseparable since the day I pulled one of her pigtails and she punched me in the gut.
She’s hilarious, fun to hang out with. Together, we’re like peanut butter and jelly, spaghetti and meatballs, wings and beer. A match made in heaven.
She’s the bomb.
Did I mention she’s smokin’ hot? I’ve checked her out…maybe once or twice. Hey, I’m a guy.
Seriously, no awkwardness, no secret yearning for our relationship to escalate beyond the purely platonic. I’m the boy friend—the loyal shoulder she cries on, the dispenser of coffee, sympathy, hugs, advice, and affection with no expectations.
Until the invisible line between friends and lovers became blurry.
Now I want more. I want her.
All I have to do is convince her we can be more than friends.
Right?
If only it were that easy.

My Review:

I am beyond excited to review The Boy Friend, by Mika Jolie! I was already a huge fan of hers but this was her best yet in my opinion! 

Let me start with Dean… Oh my goodness, how do I describe Dean? He’s incredibly handsome and sexy, he’s smart and successful, absolutely hilarious and honest, and of course – he is Cori’s friend. Cori (Coriander) is a free-spirited artist that has been best friends with Dean and his sister Kate since elementary school. They have always been just friends, strictly platonic. But when Cori decides to start dating again in attempts to find Mr. Right, things start to shift between these two friends. Dean has always been a “one night stand” guy, but once Cori wants to find the man of her dreams, Dean starts noticing things about her that he had ignored before and especially noticing strange feelings about Cori that he hasn’t experienced before. 

His friends Cam and Lucas, as well as, several of his family members and Cori’s grandmother, have all been secretly rooting for Dean and Cori to fall in love some day. Dean has never considered it and with the story being written from his point of view, it’s difficult to know how Cori feels, adding wonderful suspense to this romantic comedy. Poor Dean has always been a fantastic friend to Cori, but while he’s trying to see if there is something between them, he screws up repeatedly. I still adored him but it was as if he was reading a manual titled, “how to lose a woman in 5 minutes.” 

I was in love with this novel from the first page until the last and can literally think of nothing negative to say about the plot, characters, writing style, length, dialogue – anything. Mika Jolie is the master of building a connection between her characters and readers, and this is certainly no exception. There are some frustrating and/or sad moments, but overall The Boy Friend is a feel-good, hilarious tale of one man’s “aha moment” and his own internal struggles with his newly discovered feelings.

I know that The Boy Friend is described as a stand alone but I am soooooo hoping that she decides to continue with this story and these characters. Perhaps Lucas and Kate? Or even Cam and Meredith?  Regardless, if you are a fan of romance and especially funny romance, this needs to be next on your reading list!

*Thanks to the author for providing a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review!

Purchase The Boy Friend on Amazon!

Learn more about Mika Jolie by visiting her web page.

Leave a Reply

