Book Review: I Found You

I FOUND YOU, BY LISA JEWELL

PUBLICATION: ATRIA BOOKS; APRIL 25, 2017

I found youAbout the book: A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of a protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic.

My Review:

This was my first time reading Lisa Jewell and this was an amazing suspense/thriller! This story involves several people, beginning with Alice who spots a man on the beach below her cottage one day – a man that has no idea who is or how he got there. Then there is Lily, who is new to London and her new husband Carl has suddenly gone missing. Alice decides to help the nameless man try to discover who he is while Lily works with police, one of her husband’s friends, and anyone who will help her to try and find her husband. In the meantime, we learn the story of Gray and Kirsty and their last summer at the beach with their parents. This tale weaves back and forth between each story keeping you on the edge of your seat wondering who is who, what happened, where is Carl, and who is this man with no memory?

I’ll start with Alice who I loved! She was so down to earth, raising three children, yet still decided to take a chance on a man with no recall of who he was and allow him to stay in her guest cottage – and feed him, clothe him, and help him figure out who he is. Then there is the mystery man himself, who they decide to call “Frank.” I love his quiet peacefulness, even when he has no clue who he is, and I love his honesty as he does start to get flashes of his memory. I did struggle to connect with, or even care about Lily and her missing husband Carl. They had only been married a few weeks and were supposedly madly, crazy in love, but something about her just didn’t mesh well with me, not sure why. Then there were Graham (Gray), his sister Kirsty, and their parents. I liked this family and especially admired Gray’s protective nature when it came to his younger sister being “courted” by an older boy. 

I Found You kept me guessing the entire time and honestly, it surprised the hell out of me. The entire novel I thought I knew what was really going on, however, I was so far off-base that there are no words. The novel was already fast-paced and attention-grabbing, but once everyone sort of “meets,” I realized that I did not have the slightest clue what was really going on – which I love! Between Alice and “Frank” investigating and trying to trigger his memory, coupled with Lily trying to find her husband, bits and pieces slowly roll out and were wonderfully shocking!

Amazon categorizes this novel as “women’s fiction” and “domestic life.” Do not be misled by this odd categorization. This is a mystery/suspense/thriller at its finest. It combines fabulous literary fiction with a suspenseful twist that you will not be able to put down once you start. I suggest starting this one when there are plenty of hours left in the day unless you want a long night of reading – you will have to know what the truth is! Pre-order this one ASAP, it was fantastic. 

*Thanks to NetGalley for providing this ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Pre-order I Found You on Amazon.

Learn more about Lisa Jewell by visiting her web page.

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Book Review: I Found You

  1. notsomoderngirl says:

    This sounds like a great book! I read ‘Before I Met You’ by Lisa Jewell and thought it was such a great book, full of great plot twists! It was nothing like this sounds though, I didn’t realise Jewell did thrillers, I’ll have to check out this soon! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s