Book Review: Wounded Dance

Wounded Dance (Lovers Dance Book 2), by Deanna Roy

Publication: Casey Shay Press; April 11, 2017

woundedAbout the book: For four years, I’ve had a terrible, wonderful, beautiful secret.
But now it’s out.

My brief brush with fame caught the attention of a boy I once loved. He was ripped from my life at a tender age by my father, who moved us and hid me away so that we could not meet again.

Only after he was gone did I learn I was pregnant with his child.

He’s spent years trying to find me.

And now he’s at Dreamcatcher Dance Academy.

He’s going to find our baby, he says. The adoption wasn’t legal since he didn’t know.

He has no idea how close our little girl really is. That I secretly teach her ballet.

He can’t know how important it is that I keep the secret.

But when your boyfriend is Blitz Craven, the reality TV dance show star, the press follows you everywhere.

And no matter how much Blitz wants to protect me from my old love, from the threat he poses to our happy life, there’s one fact I have to face.

My past has caught up with me.
________
Wounded Dance is book two of the Lovers Dance series. Each book is full length and stands alone, but should be read in series order to avoid spoilers.

My Review:

Livia risked everything walking onto the set of Blitz’ reality t.v. show, and won the man of her dreams. Now living together, they are still helping at Dreamcatcher and they are still spending time with Livia’s daughter, although that’s still a secret. Everything is perfect until a face from the past shows up and he wants answers. Blitz and Livia find themselves fighting off Denham while trying to protect Gabriella and her adoptive mother from learning the truth about who Livia truly is. 

Not that I didn’t enjoy the first book, Forbidden Dance, but I completely loved everything about Wounded Dance! Livia has changed so much in such a short period of time, showing a new confidence and maturity that she lacked at the start of the series. Her and Blitz are an absolutely dreamy couple and so in love, yet they are also both grounded and reasonable, paying attention to what each other needs and wants to build their relationship. This novel introduces us to Denham, a.k.a. baby daddy, Livia’s “first love,” and definitely a shock from the past. Without giving spoilers, Denham initially shows up out of the blue just to tell her something that he was wrong about. This is a BIG thing that he was wrong about, but I can’t tell! Anyway, during Livia’s shocking conversation with Denham, Blitz blurts something out about being the father of her baby, leaving Denham even more shocked that he has had a child out there all this time. This leads into the bulk of the conflict and drama of the novel.

I had mixed feelings about Denham and my opinion changed about him about every other page. There were times I felt bad for him and his upbringing, then I would think he was a snake. Then I would think that he had changed and truly wanted to see his child, but then I was convinced he was a loser. This flip flop of my emotions was based on his own actions, Livia’s hot and cold approach towards him, and definitely by the conclusion. Unfortunately, this novel also brings back Livia’s parents in small appearances, and her Dad is still as horrible as before. 

I am captivated by Blitz and Livia’s story and this has quickly jumped to one of my favorite contemporary romance series. Deanna Roy has a flawless, yet personal writing style leaving the reader no choice but to become quickly addicted to the story and the characters. I highly recommend Wounded Dance, but also suggest starting with Forbidden Dance just so you will understand what Livia has endured while growing up and how much she and Blitz have changed. I cannot wait to read book 3, Wicked Dance!

Many thanks to Deanna Roy for providing this ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Pre-Order Wounded Dance on Amazon!

Learn more about Deanna Roy by visiting her web page!

One thought on “Book Review: Wounded Dance

Leave a Reply

