Book Review: Who You Think I Am

WHO YOU THINK I AM,

BY CAMILLE LAURENS

PUBLICATION: OTHER PRESS; MARCH 28, 2017

who you thinkAbout the book: This is the story of Claire Millecam, a 48-year-old teacher and divorcee, who creates a fake social media profile to try to keep tabs on Jo, her occasional, elusive, and inconstant lover. Under the false identity of Claire Antunes, a young and beautiful 24-year-old, she starts a correspondence with Chris–pseudonym KissChris–which soon turns into an Internet love affair.

This is the story of Claire Millecam, a 48-year-old teacher and divorcee, who creates a fake social media profile to try to keep tabs on Jo, her occasional, elusive, and inconstant lover. Under the false identity of Claire Antunes, a young and beautiful 24-year-old, she starts a correspondence with Chris–pseudonym KissChris–which soon turns into an Internet love affair.

WHO YOU THINK I AM is a true novel of our times that brilliantly exposes the disconnect between desire and fantasy. Social media allows us to put ourselves on display, to indulge in secrets, but above all it allows us to lie, to recreate a life, to become our own fiction–a mixture of sentimental naivety and manipulative perversity which echoes the libertine novels of the 18th century.

My Review:

I was excited by the description of Who You Think I Am but was sorely disappointed. Prepare for one of my shortest reviews of all time. I thought the story sounded interesting with a woman creating a fake social media account to keep tabs on her ex, but it was impossible for me to get into the story or connect with Claire. This is a short novel at 196 pages but I must confess that I gave up on page 51. There are so many long run-on sentences and it’s confusing at first who is talking and who she is talking to. I can only think of one or two occasions where I put a book down and didn’t finish it, but it was necessary for my sanity. I looked over other reviews once putting it down to see if I am crazy and this is actually a fabulous novel, but it appeared that 3-4 other reviews agreed with me regarding the difficult to read writing style and the confusion regarding time, place, characters, and so on. This novel was translated from French to English so it could also just be a writing style I am not used to, but regardless, I couldn’t see this one through to the end. 

*Thanks to Edelweiss for providing a copy of this ARC in exchange for an honest review. 

 

Leave a Reply

