Book Review: Rarity From the Hollow

RARITY FROM THE HOLLOW,

BY ROBERT EGGLETON

PUBLICATION: DOG HORN PUBLISHING (NOVEMBER 8, 2015)

rarity

Synopsis: Lacy Dawn’s father relives the Gulf War, her mother’s teeth are rotting out, and her best friend is murdered by the meanest daddy on Earth. Life in The Hollow isn’t great. But Lacy has one advantage — she’s been befriended by a semi-organic, semi-robot who works with her to cure her parents. He wants something in exchange, though. It’s up to her to save the Universe.

 

 

 

 

 

 

My Review:

Every so often I read something and then don’t have the slightest damned clue how to review it, and this is one of those instances. Sometimes people mention to me that I always write positive reviews, which isn’t true, however, I always try to highlight something positive despite my overall opinion of the book. Not to mention that I try to accept review requests when it sounds like something I will enjoy. I step out of my comfort zone frequently but still, I do not accept review requests if I truly do not think I will like the book. 

Anyhow, as crazy as the description was I felt that I would really enjoy Rarity From the Hollow! I’m not a huge sci-fi fan but have read several sci-fi novels that I enjoyed. When I began reading I must have laughed out loud 5-6 times in the first few minutes, and some of this was simply because of the chapter names. I have an odd, somewhat inappropriate and often immature sense of humor so I was quickly entranced by this novel. I quickly adored the main character Lacy Dawn and was eager to dig into this story. However, it started losing me when I realized that the trees talked to her and frequently told her to “eat shit,” and that her deceased best friend now lived in a piece of firewood. Don’t get me wrong, I applaud Robert Eggleton’s imagination and creativity, but I found myself struggling. Not my cup of tea, but still I carried on. 

Lacy Dawn’s parents start out basically horrible with her Dad screaming and yelling at them, beating her and her mom with switches, and just being a horrible people. Lacy Dawn’s robot teacher/boyfriend/mentor DotCom has not only been teaching her fabulous things about history and the universe but also helps her “cure” her parents of their mean and ugly ways. This part I enjoyed 🙂 However, things just went south from there. Dwayne (the Dad) is a gigantic pot head and primarily focuses on getting high and getting laid. Jenny (the mom) just wants to masturbate or get laid. Then there is the friend Tom, who only wants to get high and has inappropriate thoughts about Jenny. I thought DotCom was cool at first, but as he started to grow a penis, all he wanted to do was play with it. I pride myself on being almost impossible to offend, but all the pot-smoking, dirty thoughts, masturbation, dog poop, etc. just got tiresome. 

Now let me tell you things I loved about this novel. First, it is evident that Robert Eggleston has first-hand knowledge of this socioeconomic class and people like Lacy Dawn and her family, which I later confirmed when reading his bio. Although in a darkly humorous and sci-fi fantasy sort of way, he painted a realistic picture of Lacy Dawn’s life. Secondly, I was impressed by his writing style and the easy flow of dialogue. Even when I was aggravated or disturbed by a character’s thoughts or comments, they all played well off of one another and I never questioned who was speaking or when. The author’s writing was also full of fabulous and relevant imagery even though sometimes it was a bit much and almost disgusting. But still, hats off for creating such vivid images in my mind! 

I am torn on my overall feelings about this novel and I guess if I had to go on Amazon and give it a star rating it would probably be 3/5. My reasoning is this… I found the story wildly ridiculous even within the realm of sci-fi and honestly can’t imagine how someone thought this story up. But on the same token, I can’t imagine how someone thought this story up so I respect the author’s vision. I can’t really say that I enjoyed the novel but I also wasn’t able to put it down – sort of like our compulsion to look at car accidents on the road. I had to carry on to find out what happened. Big sci-fi fans/stoners/fantasy types may really enjoy this novel, but it wasn’t a good fit for me. 

*Thanks to the author for providing a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review. 

**Robert Eggleton is donating proceeds from this novel to child abuse prevention, which is really cool. You can purchase Rarity From the Hollow on Amazon. 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Rarity From the Hollow

  1. Mae Clair says:

    I’ve been on the fence about this one. I checked it out on Amazon because I was intrigued by the concept, but then I read a lot of reviews and was indecisive. Your review was fair and direct at the same time, pointing out what worked for you and what didn’t. Obviously we all have different ideas of what works and what doesn’t. I’m just not sure I’m ready to venture into this one for much of what is mentioned here and on Amazon are things I would have a hard time reading about. Like you said…..kudos to the author for his vivid imagination!

    Liked by 1 person

    • dandelionsinspired says:

      That’s what I really tried to convey was though it wasn’t something for me, there are plenty of readers that will enjoy this. And based on reviews, there are plenty that already have! I absolutely love an escape from reality while reading, but I have limits, lol!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

