Reviews

Book Review: Hart of His

Hart of His: A Wounded Hero Romance (Cale & Mickey Book 2),

by Annie Arcane

Publication: November 21, 2016

hart-of-his

Synopsis:

It’s been two months since I moved in with Mickey Hart.

Here’s what I’ve learned:

1. 523 square feet is really f*cking small.
2. Sharing a bathroom is the worst idea ever. Especially when you’re a damn paraplegic.
3. Never lie. No matter what.

Oh, and one last thing…

I love her. More than ever.

Even if I’m still a workaholic. And stubborn as all hell.

Warning: Strong language, mature content, drama, and angst included. Shirt sold separately

My Review:

Hart of His is the second novella in the Hart series by author Annie Arcane. If you read my previous review of Hart Broken, you already know I fell in love with main character Cale Windemere! This novella is told from Cale’s point of view, two months after moving in with Mickey. It’s short but definitely jam-packed with good stuff and provides an even more in-depth look into Cale. The story sort of jumps back and forth over the course of a few weeks, outlining arguments, breakthroughs and a variety of moments between Cale and Mickey. Mainly, the reader gets to know Cale better and develops a better understanding of his feelings and fears of inadequacy related to being a paraplegic.  

Cale spends a lot of this novella apologizing to Mickey, and rightfully so. He loses his temper, gets grumpy, gets mad – but all of it is directly related to himself and not her. Mickey demonstrates patience and love unlike any I’ve ever seen as she tries to strengthen the bond between her and Cale without overstepping his boundaries, but she also clearly hits her limits with him at times. 

I mentioned in my review of Hart Broken that I was not a fan of Cale’s twin brother, Cam, however, that changed while reading Hart of His. I realized that as obnoxious as Cam is, he shows up with honest concern and care when it matters. He still made plenty of jokes at Cale’s expense, but this time it seemed less malicious, possibly because of a bonding moment with Cale trying to get in and out of his truck! 

Annie Arcane’s writing was once again very first person and almost more like providing a private screening of what goes in within Cale’s mind. Although I’m often the queen of long and complex sentences, I continue to enjoy her short sentences that are quick and to the point. There were a few times I was confused about some of the events that happened, as when I read the first novel, but again I think that’s more of her writing style and strategy allowing the reader to formulate their own conclusions without getting too detailed about personal/bodily issues that Cale faced. 

Obviously, I haven’t said much about the plot itself, but I can’t without providing spoilers! Once you have read Hart Broken, grab a copy of Hart of His and get to know Cale better. It was just as fabulous as the first book and left me so incredibly eager for the 3rd installment, Hart of Hers. I am counting the days until the fabulous Annie Arcane emails me letting me know that I FINALLY get to read it 🙂 Hart of His is complex and developed romantic novella that you should not miss!

*Many thanks to Annie Arcane for a copy of this novella in exchange for an honest review!

Purchase Hart of His on Amazon! 

Learn more about the fabulous Annie Arcane by visiting her web page!!

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Hart of His”

Leave a Reply

