Book Review: Just the Two of Us

JUST THE TWO OF US: A HEARTFELT NOVEL ABOUT FINDING LOVE IN UNEXPECTED PLACES, BY GEORGIE CAPRON

PUBLICATION: ARIA; FEBRUARY 1, 2017

just-the-2-of-usSynopsis: 

Lucy is the wrong side of thirty and tormented daily by the idyllic family pictures cluttering up her Facebook newsfeed. All of her friends seem to be getting married and having babies, and yet here she is, resolutely single, and no prospect of creating the perfect family she’s always dreamt of.

How she longs for it to be her turn.

But finding love is complicated, and as time passes she wonders if there might just be another way to make her dreams come true. Is she brave enough to go it alone, or is the fantasy of ‘baby makes three’ just too precious to give up on?

 

 

My Review:

Let me begin by saying I loved this novel, although I was incredibly annoyed by the main character, Lucy, at times. And I’m also unsure about the title, given the full scope of the book, but I’ll let that go. Considering I’m on marriage #3 (which I thank God for daily), I was a bit put off by this book and Lucy’s obsession with getting married and having kids. I get that she was in her thirties and hearing the biological clock ticking, but I figured out fairly early that she was more concerned with getting married and having kids rather than being concerned about finding her soulmate. 

Like Lucy, I was quickly smitten with Alex, but I also quickly noticed how detached he was. But I must admit I instantly fell in love with Rory and that has not changed since finishing this book. Where can I get a Rory? In my mind, I picture an older Jeffrey Dean Morgan from P.S. I Love You, and I want to know where I can get my own! Anyhow, the storyline isn’t incredibly unique about a single woman in London wanting a husband and kids, but still, I loved the story. It reminded me of Kate Winslet in The Holiday with Lucy being attracted to her unavailable boss, but in a way it reminded me of plenty of books and movies that have already been done with the same old story of a woman wanting a hubby and kids, but no – scratch the hubby because that isn’t going to happen, etc. I hate to be so single minded, but I think that Rory and his dog, Rufus are what kept this story alive for me. I feel like I’m repeatedly contradicting myself with positives and negatives, but that’s honestly how I feel!

I absolutely loved Georgie Capron’s easy flow in her writing, and I loved how she developed Lucy so completely, almost making her raw and exposed.  Although I perceived Lucy to be very needy…  But I must comment that included in this novel is one of the funniest things I have EVER read, involving a fat roll-loving blind date and a piece of cheese! Just the Two of Us completely held my attention and it was a great read, but I felt overwhelmed with the theme of needing and wanting a man and a baby, and I also got lost at times with Lucy’s visits to see all of her family – who in the hell gets that much vacation time from their job?? 

I feel like I’m all over the place so let me try to sum this up. I enjoyed the book and was totally into it. The plot was not unique but still held my interest. I think that Rory made the entire book and I will probably dream about him tonight. If you love a jumbled up romance/women’s fiction novel  – then you will like this book! This is the author’s debut novel and I think she is off to a great start 🙂

*Thanks to Aria and NetGalley for providing a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review!

Learn more about author Georgie Capron by visiting her web page! 

Purchase Just the Two of Us on Amazon! 

 

Leave a Reply

