Review: Always Room for Cupcakes

“ALWAYS ROOM FOR CUPCAKES,”

BY BETHANY LOPEZ

PUBLICATION: FEBRUARY 2, 2016

cupcakesSynopsis: One day I was be-bopping along jamming to the music in my head while wondering if my thighs could handle grabbing a cupcake on the way home. The next thing I knew, my entire world crashed and burned.

I used to wake up at night in a sweat, crying because I’d dreamt that my husband was cheating on me, or that he hated me, and resented my kids. He’d always hold me close and tell me it was all just a dream, that he loved me and our family and that he’d never let me go.

He was a fucking liar.

Now I spend my days taking photos of scum just like him, trying to be a champion for other’s being taken advantage of by the losers in our town and my nights being a single mom to my beautiful twins.

I’ve got great friends who have my back and a sexy, mysterious motorcycle man who keeps showing up when I need him. Maybe things are starting to look up, and one thing’s for sure… There’s always room for cupcakes.

WARNING: THIS BOOK CONTAINS FOUL LANGUAGE, SEX, SOME VIOLENCE, AND SHENANIGANS. IF NONE OF THAT BOTHERS YOU, GRAB A CUPCAKE AND READ ON!

Review: Why has it taken so long for me to read Bethany Lopez?  “Always Room for Cupcakes” is the most unique and hilarious novel I have read in a long time! The main character, Lila, is newly divorced and works as a photographer for a Private Investigator in a small town. She lives with her ten-year-old twins in an apartment since catching her husband cheating in a car behind of a Starbucks and was approached for the photography job after posting naked, in-the-act pictures of her husband and his slutty woman all over town. Her best friend, Amy Mae, runs a bakery and supplies Lila with cupcakes and she also has a new, hot man in her life named Cade. Lila is used to snapping shots of people cheating or at places they weren’t supposed to be, but things heat up when she starts witnessing illegal happenings in her small town.

Lila is honestly my hero! She is so incredibly funny and rolls with the punches no matter what. She’s fearless when trying to get her shots of her “perps” and has the most hilarious and blunt personality ever. Cade was mysterious yet so sweet and adorably sexy. I loved Lila’s friends also, especially during an incident where Lila thinks she’s caught Amy Mae’s husband cheating. This novel is incredibly fast-paced and has tons of suspense, surprises, and some pretty hot sexy scenes too 🙂 What really makes me love this novel is Lila and the different, stand-out storyline of the novel. This is not a sappy romance and there are no pity parties over her husband cheating on her. Lila is a badass woman who accepts things and overcomes them, and has some of the funniest inner dialogue I’ve ever read! How Bethany Lopez thought up Lila, her story and the supporting characters is beyond me, but I cannot wait to read more about them in this series! “Always Room for Cupcakes” is a novel that you won’t soon forget and definitely full of characters that you will remember long after finishing the book. I loved reading this novel and cannot wait to read more from Lopez in the future. Hopefully, hint – hint, she will want to send me the follow-up novel in the Cupcake series and I will be reviewing it soon!

Learn more about Bethany Lopez by visiting her web page.

Purchase “Always Room for Cupcakes” on Amazon.

* No disclaimer this time, I bought this one myself 🙂

4 thoughts on “Review: Always Room for Cupcakes

  1. bethanylopez2 says:

    Your review made me smile, and cry a little! Thanks so much for reading, I’m thrilled you enjoyed Lila and the gang! I’d be happy to send you a copy of Cupcake Overload!

    Like

Leave a Reply

