Book Review: Hollywood Detective

“HOLLYWOOD DETECTIVE: JAKE HANCOCK MYSTERY THRILLER” (JAKE HANCOCK PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR SERIES BOOK 1),

BY DAN TAYLOR

PUBLISHED:  SEPTEMBER 18, 2015

hollywood detective

Recently I was contacted by author Dan Taylor, inquiring if I would be interested in reading and reviewing “Hollywood Detective: Jake Hancock Mystery Thriller,” and I can honestly say I’ve just finished one of the funniest novels I have ever read! Jake Hancock is a Private Investigator for an elite PI firm, The Agency, he’s going through a divorce, and due to his sister’s illness has to help out with his nephew. Jake is a handsome guy that makes excellent money and has a quirky and hilarious sense of humor. Jake’s newest assignment has him heading to Rodeo, Texas to meet his client Megan, who is looking for her biological father. Posing as Megan’s somewhat older med student boyfriend, Jake begins trying to unravel the mystery of Megan’s parents in hopes to solve the mystery behind who her biological father really is.

First of all, this book is absolutely fabulous from the first page. Taylor’s dialogue between the characters is so realistic (and hilarious) that it makes you feel as if you are there taking part in the conversation. I immediately decided I wanted Jake Hancock to be my best friend so that we could sit around engaging in his banter that is intelligent, semi-offensive and funny as hell. Several times while I was reading I found myself completely laughing out loud, pausing to reflect on the fact that someone thought to say something so damn funny. Besides the humor of the novel and Jake’s lively banter with the other characters, this book is truly suspenseful with tons of twists and turns that you don’t see coming. Not suspenseful in a spooky way, “Hollywood Detective” keeps you guessing the entire time, and is an absolute page-turner that you will start and finish in one sitting.

I read over some of the other reviews online for this novel, as well as, for some of the others in the series and here’s what I noticed. People seem to love this book and think it’s hilarious or they find Jake the biggest jackass on earth and think the book is just morally offensive. Not really sure what it says about me, but I thought it was fabulous. If you are easily offended by language then this probably isn’t the book for you. However, if you are not one easily offended and want to read a laugh-out-loud crime thriller, then grab this novel. Cheers to a great novel and I can’t wait to read more about Jake Hancock!

Learn more about Dan Taylor by visiting and following his blog!

*I received a copy of this novel for free in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

