Review: Lust, Money & Murder – 4

“LUST, MONEY & MURDER, BOOK 4 – CATTORETTI’S RETURN: AN UNSTOPPABLE VILLAIN’S THIRST FOR REVENGE,” BY MIKE WELLS

PUBLISHER: FOR READERS OF SIDNEY SHELDON, JAMES PATTERSON, JACKIE COLLINS, LIANE MORIARTY, JOHN GRISHAM, AND LEE CHILD PUBLISHING CO.; MAY 15, 2014

lust$murder4

I just love Mike Wells and his “Lust, Money & Murder” novels! I believe when I reviewed books 1-3 in this series that I announced that I had never known I was a crime thriller fan, but I really am. At the end of books 1-3, Giorgio Cattoretti was battling it out with Elaine Brogan on the side of a cliff, and Giorgio went over, but of course, he survived. His leg is broken and he’s lost an eye, but Cattoretti carries on making camp, rummaging through dumpsters and fishing to survive. After hiding out awhile, he makes his way back to his village where he finds his secret stash hidden between rocks, and Cattoretti is back in the game. Armed with money and new identification, Cattoretti empties an account and goes into hiding, but hiding in style. An old contact in Russia refuses to help him (and takes a hit out on him), so he finds an extravagant villa in Cyprus and hires a beautiful woman, Lexy to handle his cooking, cleaning and every sexual desire. Doesn’t sound bad for an international criminal that’s wanted by the government and the best hitman in the world? Oh, and he’s also known now as Xavier Dente, from Portugal.

Unfortunately, I can’t really go into much more without there being spoilers, which I hate anyway but would especially hate to provide any for this novel. Once again, Mike Wells has crafted a page-turner based around Cattoretti, but with several subplots that keep you hooked from beginning to end. The reader learns so much more about Cattoretti in this novel, seeing good sides and horrible sides of the famed criminal. There are times you almost feel sorry for him, and times you think he’s changing and has a soft side, but then you’re reminded of the monster he is. Lexy’s character is just “o.k.” in the beginning, but Wells develops her character from a maid/sex slave into an intelligent, creative and passionate woman. Yuri Zubov, who was once a Russian associate of Cattoretti’s, refuses to help him and takes a hit on him, but it’s Zubov’s assistant, Pavel, who we really see take an emotional and physical beating throughout the novel while trying to remain loyal to Zubov. The best that I can sum up the characters at the end of the novel is that everyone is trying to trick everyone, and you really have no idea until the time the author reveals it in the plot. There are so many wonderful surprises, twists, and turns in this novel and you will be disappointed once you’ve reached the end, simply because it’s over and you want more!

Elaine Brogan has small appearances throughout book 4, but I think she will be much more prominent in book 5. I look forward to continuing this amazing crime thriller series from Mike Wells!

Visit Mike Wells’ webpage to learn more about the author.

*Disclaimer: I received a copy of this novel from the author in exchange for an honest review.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s