Book Review: The Love Code

“THE LOVE CODE: THE SECRET PRINCIPLE TO ACHIEVING SUCCESS IN LIFE, LOVE, AND HAPPINESS,” BY ALEXANDER LOYD, PhD, ND

PUBLISHER: HARMONY; REPRINT EDITION; MAY 10, 2016

love code

So I was thinking awhile back I would like to do more nonfiction reviews and decided on this, thinking it sounded interesting. This is one fo the few times you will read a review from me where I tried to read the book, tried to be open-minded, but just wasn’t able to get into it and read it. The author of “The Love Code,” Alexander Loyd, PhD, ND states that this is a holistic program to remove obstacles from our lives and achieve success, but to me, it just seemed repetitive of various other techniques described before. There are several contradictions as you move through the chapters, and I also struggle with his statistics about 97% of self-help books failing, but that his method is in the 3% that is successful. He bases this on his 25 years of practice, but I find it a lofty statement without very much evidence. He dismisses 3-step programs for reaching goals, but when you really break down the steps in the Love Code, it’s very similar to these 3-step programs that he claims are unsuccessful. One point that I agreed with was regarding negative memories having a negative impact on our future, but then again, isn’t that sort of common sense?

With all of that being said, this book has a huge amount of great reviews on Amazon and other websites. I think this could be effective for someone who really is struggling with a goal or success in their life, that wants to spend a great deal of time working on themselves. This is a 40-day program that I lost interest in when reading about Step 1, but it just wasn’t me. A good frame of reference is cooking and recipes. I love to cook and have been told by many people in my life that I am a great cook. However, if I look at a recipe and there’s more than 8-10 ingredients or there is a huge amount of prep time, I move on. I’ve made plenty of fabulous dishes with 6 ingredients, 20 minute prep time and 45-minute cook time. So when I looked through all of the processes, steps, etc. in this book, it was just too much for me.

*Disclaimer: I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

