Book Review: Broken Pieces

“Broken Pieces,” by Kelly Moore

Publisher: Page Publishing Inc; October 20, 2015

BrokenPieces

Synopsis: His touch is scorching hot and rough just like I like it. It’s just sex.  I don’t believe in love, but he makes me feel things I have never felt.  I want to try.  I want to trust him with my secrets, but there is a good chance he will leave, he will see how broken I am.  He is what I need to fix the broken pieces of my heart. At a very young age, violence and secrets forced Brogan to escape the only life she knew. Now a young woman with a good career, she hopes to finally forget her past.  She is tormented by demons in her dreams, they threaten every sexual relationship she has ever had.
Brogan meets Kyren Nolan, a sexy ex-military man.  He is a yacht builder who has made his own wealth.  He knows what he wants the minute he meets Brogan.  He wants her and his first meeting with her lands him on the ground.  He doesn’t take no for an answer.  They start a passionate affair that turns into more.  He teaches her that a gentle touch can create as much heat between them. They both struggle for control.  But Kyren has his own scars and secrets.  When their pasts collide, will they be able to overcome the broken pieces of both their lives together?

I had not planned to read and review this novel this week, but wanted something different to read than what I had on my planned list, and remembered I had a review copy of “Broken Pieces.” Oh my goodness I am so glad I did! I loved this book from the beginning to end, well, maybe didn’t love the end, but fantastic novel overall. Moore touches on some heavy issues, so be mindful prior to reading if you are sensitive to the subject of physical and sexual abuse. Brogan is not an immediately likeable character, but give her time and she will quickly grow on you. She has a tough exterior, which you will quickly learn why, but as the novel develops Brogan changes and grows. While reading, you will see her transform from someone broken by her past, into a strong, sensitive, and open person. Kyren is absolutely adorable from the start, and Moore’s descriptive writing has you picturing sexy Kyren in his jeans. Kyren also has issues from his time in the military, which will make you fall in love with him even more after he tells Brogan what happened. Other characters are Brogan’s roommate Cady, her brother Zade, her therapist, Uncle Tom, and a client of Kyren’s.

I must admit I was surprised several times in this novel, not seeing what was coming at all. I would categorize “Broken Pieces” as romance or contemporary fiction, but there are some suspenseful moments and definite twists and turns. Unfortunately, I came across some editing issues, but otherwise, Kelly Moore’s writing is incredibly engaging. Several moments in this book will have you feeling as if you are right there seeing and hearing what is going on, rather than reading. Do not start this book unless you have time to finish it in one sitting because you will not want to put it down and pick it back up later. I was completely shocked at the ending, but since I have the second book in the series, “Pieced Together” (which I am going to start after writing this), I didn’t get too upset! If you haven’t read this one already, it is a must-read. Kelly Moore has definitely sparked my interest and is absolutely an author to add to my list of favorites!

Visit Kelly Moore’s web site to learn more about the author and her other novels.

*Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “Book Review: Broken Pieces

Leave a Reply

