What am I reading??

Wondering what fabulous novels I’m planning to read this week?  Here is my planned list of reading for the week.  The first one is rolled over from last week, because I have had several days of internet issues, but the week should be something like this:

Nibblers Plus,  by Obinna Hendrix

Publisher: Obinna Hendrix; MAY 2, 2016

Nibblers

Synopsis: Nibblers

Telekinesis is the next phase of human evolution. Nibblers have this ability and literarily eat half the world’s population as a side effect of having their powers. They have lost all ability to speak, and communicate only through thought. They are a dangerous breed that can move objects by strength of thought. Humans must not only survive the flesh hungry Telekinetic Nibblers but also themselves, as they fight over dwindling supplies and territory.

Mandy is a Straggler, a lone wolf with no affiliations to any of the warring clans. She loots supplies from anywhere she can and hides from other people and the dreaded ruling fragment of the old government “Enterprise.”

How long can Mandy survive in a world where humans hate Stragglers and Nibblers want to eat anything that breathes?

Charlie & The Mixiegruff

An outsider, out on an ordinary day, somehow gets sucked into a crazy, dangerous, magical mirror world. He is soon attacked by harbingers of the darkness- Darkstalkers. Defenseless, Charlie is almost doomed to certain death, but for the intervention of an unlikely mythical hero who tries desperately to protect the drifter. Zoe, the Mixiegruff and Charlie don’t exactly get on well. She can’t stand him, even though there is something about him that keeps her drawn to him. She stands by him through his dangerous journey into the Marelands, as they fend off Ogres, Dark fairies and other mythical adversaries.

 

Braving It: A Father, a Daughter, and an Unforgettable Journey into the Alaskan Wild, by James Campbell

Publisher: Crown Publishing; May 10, 2016

Braving It

Synopsis: Alaska’s Arctic National Wildlife Refuge, home to only a handful of people, is a harsh and lonely place. So when James Campbell’s cousin Heimo Korth asked him to spend a summer building a cabin in the rugged Interior, Campbell hesitated about inviting his fifteen-year-old daughter, Aidan, to join him: Would she be able to withstand clouds of mosquitoes, the threat of grizzlies, bathing in an ice-cold river, and hours of grueling labor peeling and hauling logs?

But once there, Aidan embraced the wild. She even agreed to return a few months later to help the Korths work their traplines and hunt for caribou and moose. Despite windchills of 50 degrees below zero, father and daughter ventured out daily to track, hunt, and trap. Under the supervision of Edna, Heimo’s Yupik Eskimo wife, Aidan grew more confident in the woods.

Campbell knew that in traditional Eskimo cultures, some daughters earned a rite of passage usually reserved for young men. So he decided to take Aidan back to Alaska one final time before she left home. It would be their third and most ambitious trip, backpacking over Alaska’s Brooks Range to the headwaters of the mighty Hulahula River, where they would assemble a folding canoe and paddle to the Arctic Ocean. The journey would test them, and their relationship, in one of the planet’s most remote places: a land of wolves, musk oxen, Dall sheep, golden eagles, and polar bears.

At turns poignant and humorous, Braving It is an ode to America’s disappearing wilderness and a profound meditation on what it means for a child to grow up—and a parent to finally, fully let go.

Time After Time: A heart-warming novel about love, loss and second chances, by Hannah McKinnon

Publisher:Maze; June 2, 2016

Time After Time

Synopsis: Time After Time is a fresh and funny work of women’s commercial fiction, which explores the romantic paths that could have been . . .
For fans of Laura Barnett and Dani Atkins, Hannah McKinnon has written a moving story that will resonate with any woman who has ever wondered, in a moment of frustration, “what if?”.
Hayley Cooper, a powerful but now struggling lawyer, fantasizes about what her life would be like if only if she’d made different choices. It’s understandable; the past two years have been hell. She barely sees her kids, her boss is trying to sabotage her, and her marriage is falling apart.
Burnt out, Hayley goes to sleep wishing for a different life. When she wakes up married to her first boyfriend, one she has not seen in over twenty years, she realizes there might be some truth in the saying “be careful what you wish for”. Over a single weekend, like Ebenezer Scrooge, Hayley gets to see her life on other side of the white picket fence – not just with her first ex, but with each of her past loves. But is the grass always greener, and will she ever want to go home?

Storm Rising, by Racheal Richey

Publisher: The Wild Rose Press, Inc.; February 13, 2015

storm rising

Synopsis: Frontman of the grunge rock band NightHawk, Gideon Hawk has had enough of the rock star life. He is jaded, disillusioned, and haunted by the memory of an unresolved heartbreak. On a whim, he leaves the band in New York and heads to England in search of answers. After attending the funeral of her estranged mother, Abigail Thomson makes a shocking discovery in her parents’ attic. The still-raw memories that surface, along with even more startling discoveries, force Abi to face a devastating truth that leads to a series of life-changing events. She and Gideon must race against time to reclaim the life stolen from them a decade before.

 

Hope you have a great week and happy reading !

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s